Pizza Bites, Anyone?

Growing up, I LOVED pizza (and still do, though I don’t eat it often). I also loved those highly processed pizza rolls and bagel bites. They were quick and easy and always in the freezer, making them my go to after school snack. Although I enjoyed them, neither of those little morsels would be acceptable with my current philosophy.

So what is a girl to do when she has a hankering for that pizza taste? Answer: Quinoa Pizza Bites. These bite sized treats are packed with pizza flavor and extremely versatile. They are perfect for kids (or brothers who could live on bagel bites…ahem) and adults alike. Give these a try, and I promise you will not be disappointed.

Pizza Bites

2 cups cooked quinoa

1/2 cup chopped onions

3/4 cup chopped pepperoni

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (more if you like it cheesier)

2 eggs

1-2 tsp minced garlic

1-2 tbsp chopped, fresh basil

1-2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp paprika

salt and pepper to taste

Pizza sauce for dipping

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a mini muffin pan and set aside (very important!)

2. Mix all ingredients together in large bowl.

3. Fill muffin pan with mixture, pressing down lightly to make bites more compact.

4. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

Yields about 25-30 mini bites. You can make them in a regular-size muffin pan, however, you will need to increase the cooking time to 25-30 minutes.Β Leftover bites (though, I doubt there will be any) can be put in an air-tight container and kept in the fridge for a few days.

All the ingredients, pre-mixing.

 

Poured, pressed, and ready for the oven!

Finished product. Packed with pizza flavor, without all the processed junk.

 

The recipe above is the one I use, however, you can throw just about anything in them. So you like sausage pizza, or maybe veggie? No problem, just substitute those ingredients. Don’t like onions? Leave them out! These little bites are extremely versatile and can be tweaked to fit anyone’s taste. Give them a try! I promise they will be a hit.

 

Enjoy!

 

 

6 responses to “Pizza Bites, Anyone?

    • Thanks for the comment! πŸ™‚ I hadn’t thought of trying them cold until you commented. I just made a batch the other day and decided to give them a try cold. They really may be better cold than hot. Delicious alternative to day-old cold pizza!

  1. You’re so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve read through a single thing like that before. So nice to find someone with some unique thoughts on this issue. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  3. Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i
    was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

