Refreshing. Flavorful. Summery. Basil Lime Chicken.

I eat chicken a lot. And when I say a lot, I mean A LOT. It is a staple in my diet because it is one of the cheapest lean proteins available (in terms of meat) and is extremely versatile. I can put it in Italian, Asian, Mexican, and pretty much any other kind of dish. As you can probably guess, I have experimented quite extensively with the delicious white meat.

The other day I had a hungry belly, some chicken breast in the freezer, an overgrown basil plant in my window, and Β a lonely lime in my fruit basket begging to be used. That was when the experimenting began. I was in search of something flavorful and delicious, and man, did I get what I was looking for.

Basil Lime ChickenΒ 

2 Chicken Breasts, butterflied

1 lime, zested and juiced

1.5 tbsp chopped basil

2 tbsp red onion minced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

4-5 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

coconut oil for cooking

1. Combine lime juice, zest, basil, onion, garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Place chicken cutlets in ziploc bag and pour marinade over top. Marinade for an hour or more.

2. Heat coconut oil in skillet over medium heat. Add chicken breasts + excess marinade from the bag.

3. Cook until chicken is no longer pink in middle.

4. Garnish with fresh basil and a lime wedge.

**If I had a grill, that is absolutely what I would have used. If you have one, I would give it a try.

Chicken cutlets cooking away.

I chopped the cooked chicken up and saved the leftovers for later. They would make a great topper on a salad or can be served as the main course. It is light, tangy, and flavorful, perfect for summer.

Finished product. Truly delicious.

This simple, clean, easy recipe will certainly be used again.

Give it a try!

One response to “Refreshing. Flavorful. Summery. Basil Lime Chicken.

Leave a Reply

