Clean and Delightful. Banana Nut Muffins.

Hello everyone! How did you like those last two posts? They were both guest posts done by my boyfriend, Anders. He was kind enough to fill in for me a little while my teammates and I toured the ENTIRE country of Ireland.

Photo shoot at the Parliament building in Belfast. The two other girls were members of our opposing teams in Belfast and the woman in the skirt is the assistant to the Minister of Sport of Northern Ireland.

View from the top of Blarney Castle. Not bad. Yes, I kissed the stone.

I had a great time with my team for those 12 days, but I was happy to be home and back into a routine. Traveling is rough on both your mind and body and can be a challenge when I am trying to eat healthy. More to come on how to combat those challenges in a later post, for now I want to share with you a delicious little recipe.

The food in Ireland was great. Fresh meat, TONS of potatoes, and delicious little chocolate croissants (I had a serious weakness for those little buggers). Even though it was all delicious, by the time we arrived back in the states, I was more than ready to make my own food!

Begin cooking binge!Β 

This morning I gave this recipe a try and man, oh man is it a keeper. I present clean, gluten-free, paleo-friendly and all-around delicious Banana Nut Muffins.

Banana Nut Muffins

1/2 cup coconut flour

6 eggs

1/4-1/3 cup of honey (adjust according to desired sweetness)

1/3 cup coconut oil

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 tbsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

Walnuts for toppings

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a bowl, combine all ingredients except walnuts. Add bananas last.

3. Line and grease a muffin tin. Fill tins about half full, the muffins will rise considerably. Top each muffin with walnuts.

4. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Makes about 12 muffins.

Ingredients.

 

Just before going into the oven.

 

Absolutely delicious final product.

I could barely wait for them to cool down when they came out of the oven because they smelled DELICIOUS. Once I was sure they wouldn’t burn a hole in my mouth I dug in. They did not disappoint. Next time I may throw in a few chocolate chips just to switch it up.

Check back later for another delicious recipe and a short, intense workout.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

