Ice Cream. Sort of.

If you are like me you love a little ice cream every once in a while. Especially in the summer time. Throw in a little chocolate and you have an irresistible dessert for me.

Even though I love it, I know ice cream doesn’t do my body any favors. It’s usually packed with sugar, preservatives, and other not-so-great-for-you ingredients. While it is fine to splurge on it every once in a while (in my case EVERY time I go to my boyfriend’s house in New Hampster. Lagos. I can’t help it, absolutely delicious), this tasty little alternative to ice cream is much better for you!

Without further adieu, I present what I call cocoa-banana “ice cream.”

Cocoa Banana “Ice Cream”

1 Frozen Banana (I recommend slicing it before freezing it. Your blender/food processor will thank you!)

1/2 cup coconut milk

1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder (I use more, but I LOVE chocolate)

Chocolate chips and walnuts for topping

1. Pour in the cocoa powder first. This prevents it from coating the top of your blender when you first turn it on. Trust me.

2. Add the banana and coconut milk, fasten on the top of the blender securely. Again, trust me. Then blend away.

3. Blend until smooth and all the chunks of banana are gone.

4. Top with chocolate chips, walnuts, or anything else you would like.

My giant tub of frozen bananas. Always prepared

Unsweetened Cocoa Powder. Source of Deliciousness!

In the blender and ready to go. Old school blender.

Blended until smooth.

Finished Product. Topped with walnuts and extra dark chocolate chips. MY FAVORITE!

You can mix other things in for different flavors such as frozen blueberries, peanut butter, or anything else you can come up with. This is truly my go to when I am in the mood for ice cream but want to keep it clean. It’s simple and delicious. Give it a try!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

