Feeling Old at 21

At 21 years old, I am starting to feel old. Over 20 years of running around, playing sports, and pounding up and down a hardwood court has started to take its toll on me. I am starting to get aches and pains that I have never had before. It is not because I am out of shape (in fact, I am probably in the best shape of my life) I am just getting old!

So what do I do to combat this soreness? ICE! It has become one of my best friends. It helps to dull the pain and reduce the swelling and inflammation.

The benefits of icing are wonderful, but sometimes making and keeping ice bags is a pain in the butt. If you are a frequent icer, Β you know what I mean. Some are leaky, some are too small, some are too big, and forget trying to reuse them unless you want to put a giant ice block on your body.

I was recently browsing Pinterest (one of my favorite pass times I have to admit) when I came across a great pin. It said that every athlete should pin it, and I have to agree. It was for an ice pack that gets cold (and I mean very cold) BUT it doesn’t harden completely. This makes it extremely pliable and possible to mold around any ache or pain. Not only are they reusable, Β but they are a cinch to make! Here’s how:

Simple and easy with amazing healing powers. Ice packs. Gotta love ’em.

Easy Awesome Ice Packs (Life changing!)

1 part rubbing alcohol

3 parts water

ziploc bags (gallon works great for large areas, quart for smaller)

1. Mix alcohol and water together in bags.

2. Be sure to press out as much air as possible before sealing.

3. Freeze until needed. Use as needed. Return to freezer when finished.

Icing the ol’ knees watching Julia Roberts and Richard Gere. Pretty Woman. Classic.

Happy Icing!

One response to “Feeling Old at 21

Leave a Reply

