Sweet. Savory. Sensational. Summery Salad. To go.

Hello everyone! I hope you are all having a wonderful morning/day. I have had quite a productive one. I went to class, took wonderful note and had my first experience talking to a class as a “former student” (eek! I was a little nervous).

Although I don’t have the most demanding academic schedule this year (and definitely not this week) on days like today I still need to pack my lunch. As preseason gets into full swing, my lunchbox becomes my best friend, so this will likely be the first of many “to-go” lunches and snacks.

I packed my lunch all summer-long for my internship and found that a salad was one of my easiest options. I could chop up the veggies the night before and throw it together in the morning. Salads are filling and satisfying if you do them right. Check out what I put in this one:

Sweet & Savory Summer Salad

Iceberg or Romaine lettuce

Cucumbers

Tomatoes

Carrots

Red onions

Walnuts

Apple Chips (see previous post for simple recipe)

Grilled chicken

Olive oil

Balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper

1. Chop all the veggies and toss them together. Crumble apple chips and sprinkle with walnuts. Add the chicken on top.

2. Mix together small amounts of oil and vinegar in a small bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste.

3. Toss mixture with salad and enjoy!

My delicious summer salad in my tupperware ready to be taken along.

My salads change depending on what is in my kitchen that week. In order to craft a satisfying and filling salad, be sure to include some protein and fat (in my case, the chicken, walnuts, and olive oil). I like having a hint of sweetness in my salads which is why I included the apple chips. Find what works for you!

Enjoy!

One response to “Sweet. Savory. Sensational. Summery Salad. To go.

Leave a Reply

