Extremely High Intensity Interval Training. a.k.a.10 minutes-to-death.

Hello everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying their Thursday. I know I have. It was a beautiful sunny day out here in Philly so after I got my shots in I decided to lounge by the pool while I did my homework (not bad, huh?).

After I lunch I decided to take my workout for today back outside. I have to take advantage of this beautiful weather before it’s gone!

I wanted my workout today to be an intense combo of strength and cardio and I was certainly not disappointed. Be forewarned, this workout is INTENSE and effective. It is another great workout for those people pressed for time. It will take anywhere from 10-20 minutes to complete.

10 minutes-to-death

Do sets of 10, 8, 6, 4, and 2 of the following 3 exercises:

Burpee/push up combo

Position A. Place your hands the same distance you would when doing a push up.

Position B. Hop back into a push up position. Keep your core tight.

Position C. Do a push up.

Position D. Jump legs back into starting position.

Position E. Explode out of starting position as high as you can. Land back in the starting position. That is one rep.

 

Squat jump/sit up combo

Position A. Squat down low and sit down on the ground.

Position B. Roll back all the way onto your back.

Position C. Roll back up to standing.

Position C. Explode up like you do in a burpee. Return to the start position. That is one rep.

Split squat jump

Position A. Begin in a split stance. Bend your knees in a slight lunge/squat.

Position B. Explode out of the lunge, jump and switch legs in the air.

Position C. Land with the other leg forward. That is one rep.

After finishing a set of each, do a 20 second sprint before moving on to the next sets. You should do a total of 5 sprints.

Here is another variation I may try next time just to incorporate more sprints:

Sets of the following 3 exercises followed by a sprint:

Reps: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Burpee/push up combo

Squat jump/sit up combo

Split squats

:20 sprint

The variation above would be great for those who are more of beginners. If that is the case, do the 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 sets just to start and build up from there.

If you struggle through this workout, there is no shame in that. It absolutely kicked my butt! It may have only taken 10 minutes to complete but my legs were jello by the end. If you want to work up a quick and intense sweat, this is a great option. Give it a try!

How long will it take you?

