My Love Affair Continues. Chicken Piccata.

My love affair with spaghetti squash continues. I was so happy with my first experience earlier in the week, I decided to give it another try. I also don’t know if the availability of the squash is going to be permanent in my local Acme, so I plan to take advantage of it while I can.

I love love LOVE the classic Italian dish chicken piccata. It is a wonderful blend of saltiness, garlic, and lemon. The sauce is light, but creamy and satisfying. Traditionally, it is served over pasta, but that just won’t work for me anymore. With my new discovery and infatuation with spaghetti squash it only seemed natural I give it a try. My adaptation is both gluten-free and paleo-friendly.

So here it is, my take on the old Italian favorite:

Chicken Piccata

2 chicken breasts, butterflied

1/2 cup coconut flour

3 tbsp coconut oil

3 tbsp butter

3/4 cup chicken broth

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1/4 cup capers

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

Meat from 1 spaghetti squash

fresh parsley for garnish

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Bake squash for 45 min- 1hour or until soft. Clean out and scrape out meat. Set aside.

2. In large skillet, heat oil and butter.

3. Dredge butterflied chicken in coconut flour.

4. When oil/butter is hot, place chicken in skillet. Cook for 2-3 minutes each side and remove from oil. Remove oil from heat.

5. Mix garlic, lemon juice, chicken broth, and capers. Add to oil and heat over low heat until lightly boiling. Return chicken breasts to mixture and simmer for 5 minutes.

6. Remove the chicken breast from the sauce.

7. Put the meat from the squash in the pan with the sauce and saute for 2-3 minutes.

8. Serve the chicken over a bed of spaghetti squash. Sprinkle with chopped parsley.

Chicken breasts dredged in coconut flower.

Cooking chicken breasts in oil/butter mixture.

Simmering in the sauce.

Finished product. Delicious paleo-friendly, gluten-free take on a classic.

This adaptation did not disappoint. It definitely satisfied my craving for chicken piccata and will be repeated in the near future. The next challenge will be to get my boyfriend to try it. Baby steps!

Enjoy!

 

 

One response to “My Love Affair Continues. Chicken Piccata.

Leave a Reply

