Light Twist on the Classic Burger.

Imagine for a moment: a nice, juicy burger at an afternoon BBQ. Smothered in cheese and covered in veggies. Sunshine, a cold drink and good company. My mouth is watering just writing about it. Really, I just wiped my drool off the keyboard….(just kidding. Kind of.)

It being a holiday weekend (and traditionally, a grilling weekend) I thought it only appropriate I give you my twist on the traditional burger. While I do enjoy a well made sesame seed bun or fresh and delicious gourmet ciabatta roll on occasion, they generally do not fit with my nutritional philosophy. At all. But I LOVE a nice juicy burger on occasion. Especially in the summer time (I know, I know, it’s drawing to an end…sad).

So here is my solution:

Lettuce Wrapped Cheeseburger

1 hamburger patty

1 leaf of iceberg lettuce

1 slice of cheese (whatever flavor you like, my go-to is either cheddar or pepper jack)

Whatever other toppings you like

coconut oil, for cooking

1. Heat oil in skillet.

2. Cook patty in skillet until desired rarity. I make mine medium-medium well. It usually takes no more than 5-7 minutes. If you have a grill, definitely use the grill. And I am jealous. I don’t have one.

3. Add cheese just before shutting off grill or stove. Cook until melted.

4. Wash leaf of lettuce carefully.

5. Place cooked patty inside leaf. Cover in favorite toppings. Roll up and enjoy!

The ingredients I used. Typically, I will also include fresh jalapeno, pickles, and avocado depending on what I have on hand.

Finished product. Satisfying, but won’t make you feel sluggish.

You can make them double-deckers if you are really hungry (I’ll admit it, I have done it before). If you decide to do that, be aware that you will likely need 2 leaves of lettuce to wrap them properly. The lettuce wrapped burger is surprisingly satisfying without making you feel like you have just eaten a gut bomb, <–best part. Check back later tonight to see a nice little alternative to potato chips. Perfect for Labor Day BBQs!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

