Bonkers for Blueberry. Muffins that is.

As I have already said, today marks the time when my schedule gets hectic and crazy for the next six months. I am happy to say I have made it through my first day of preseason. Check back later for a nice little fitness test inspired by our first day of preseason.

With my time being squeezed, I am all about things that can be taken on the go this week. Yesterday, it was the delicious egg muffins, today, something new. Well, kind of new.

Remember those banana nut muffins I made last week? The delicious, clean, paleo-friendly banana nut muffins? Ya, those ones. I decided to try a little variation of those little beauties (and I had a container of NJ blueberries that was on its lasts leg).

So here it is:

Blueberry Muffins

1/2 cup coconut flour

6 eggs

1/3 cup of honey (I used the full 1/3 cup this time to make up for the lost sweetness of the banana)

1/3 cup coconut oil

1 tbsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup coconut milk

1 cup ripe blueberries

1/2 cup chopped pecans, optional

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a bowl, combine all ingredients except blueberries and pecans. Mix those in last.

3. Line and grease a muffin tin. Fill tins about half full, the muffins will rise considerably.

4. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Makes about 12 muffins.

Blueberries and pecans pre-mixing.

Just before going in the oven.

Finished product. Yup, I took a bite before I took the picture. Couldn’t help it.

These may have been better than the banana nut muffins. It was perfect to take with me for after workouts/between classes. They are a much healthier option than many traditional blueberry muffins that are packed with sugar and loaded with calories. Give them a try!

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Bonkers for Blueberry. Muffins that is.

Leave a Reply

