Taco Salad. To-Go.

As many of you know, I have a fantastically busy schedule. Multiple workouts per day. Multiple tutoring sessions. Homework of my own. Somewhere in there I have to fit in a meal or two. If I don’t plan ahead and make lunch to bring with me, I won’t eat. If I don’t eat (1) I am a miserable person to deal with and (2) I don’t have enough energy to get myself through everything.

Needless to say, I have to plan ahead to get things done. I don’t like to eat the same thing over and over again, so I have to get a little creative. I had mentioned in an earlier post that I would be posting lunch box-friendly recipes, and I don’t want to disappoint.

Here is something I came up with last week:

Taco SaladΒ 

Ground Beef, browned and seasoned

Black beans

Red onion, chopped

Shredded cheddar cheese

Tomatoes, chopped

Lettuce, chopped

1. Line the bottom of a Tupperware with the ground beef.

2. Add the black beans on top, followed by the onions, cheese, tomatoes, and lettuce.

3. When you are ready to eat it, shake it all up and enjoy!

Seasoned ground beef. I’ll post about my recipe for my own taco seasoning later.

Finished product. Tupperware included. Delicious and portable.

This was a nice little change-upΒ from the regular old salads and lettuce wraps I had been eating. This is also great with a shredded chicken that I will post about a little later. Any ideas for other lunch box friendly recipes?

Enjoy!

 

One response to “Taco Salad. To-Go.

  1. My favorite are salads…I put a big thing of leafy greens and get creative with the different toppings. I keep the toppings and dressing separate from the leaves so nothing gets soggy or gross. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

