Disappearing Avocado Salad.

Tomorrow is our first official day of practice, meaning it is my LAST first day of practice, ever. YIKES! Where has the time gone? Seems like just yesterday I was starting Little Dunkers at the Ames Park & Rec. Crazy to think about…

With practice starting up and the season in full swing before I know it, the need to pack my lunch continues. Mildly annoying for me, but great for you (can you say recipes galore). As promised, I will share with you my lovely packed-lunch-friendly recipes as often as possible.

This recipe I have taken from my boyfriend’s mom, and boy, is it a keeper. Not only is it Anders’s favorite (put it in front of him and it is gone in 5 minutes or less, hence “disappearing”) but it would certainly be a hit at any Mexican fiesta or maybe just a normal family dinner. There is no cooking involved, just a bit of chopping and mixing. So easy, I think Anders could even manage to make it himself (hey, a girl can dream, right?)

Without further adieu:

Avocado Salad

4 avocados, peeled and cubed

2 cups tomatoes, diced

1/2 cup red onion, chopped

1 can of black beans, drained

1 can of corn, drained

1 lime, juiced

Salt and pepper to taste

Fresh cilantro, chopped (from my window herb garden, yay!)

1. Mix together the everything but the avocado and lime in a large bowl.

2. In a separate bowl, mix together the lime juice and the avocado. This keeps the avocado from getting brown.

3. Mix in avocado and lime with the other ingredients.

4. Serve alone or with tortilla chips (Anders prefers scoops)

This was my first time using my window herb garden. Love it!!

Finished product. Delicious. Guaranteed to be gone in 15 minutes or less!

Like I said, anytime Anders is around and I make this salad it is gone before I turn around. The recipe above will make a fairly large batch. It could probably serve 6-8 people (translation 2-3 Anders servings). If you don’t watch as large of a batch, just cut it in half. If you have any guacamole lovers in your family they are sure to love this. This, along with some sliced chicken breast should make for a wonderful lunch between class/practice/tutoring. So simple, even Anders could do it. Give it a try!

 

Enjoy!

One response to “Disappearing Avocado Salad.

Leave a Reply

