So What Now?

I forgot to mention. We are the 2013 A10 Champs!

I forgot to mention. We are the 2013 A10 Champs!

As I said in my previous post, the season is over. No more practices 6 days a week, lifting 2-3 times a week, shooting sessions, etc. Whether I wanted to be or not, I stayed active by being a college athlete. So now what?

On Exercise…

Luckily, I enjoy being active. I feel better when I break a sweat every day. That doesn’t mean I will hit the gym for hours and hours, just that I will definitely stay active in my post-college-athletic life (a.k.a. N.A.R.P. life- Non-Athletic Regular Person).

I plan to have fun with it. Don’t get me wrong, I love basketball, but in these next few months I want to try all sorts of exercises. From kick-boxing to trampoline to CrossFit, I want to try them all. If anyone has any suggestions please pass them along.

Although there was a time earlier in the year when I said all I would do is run, run, run when it was all over and never lift another weight (at least for a month or two), I have since changed my tune. I will do my best to strength train at least 3 days per week. I enjoy the results too much to stop now and it is easier to lose muscle than build it.

That being said, there will be running involved. There has to be if I am to defend my 5k win last summer against my dad in this upcoming July’s Midnight Madness! I know my dad will do everything he can to whoop my butt this year, so now is no time to slack off.

I will be sharing many workouts I have devised and/or tried out in later blog posts. Be sure to check them out!

On Nutrition…

I admit it, I have fallen off the proper eating bandwagon during the season. An overabundance of Italian food menus on the road and a lack of time have resulted in me developing some not-so-great habits. Needless to say, it is time to start getting back on track. I now have no excuse to clean up my act. I am looking forward to reaping the many benefits of a properly fueled body including more energy and faster recovery.

I have some DELICIOUS new recipes to share with you. I hope you like them as much as I do!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

