Avocado Shrimp Ceviche.

I am currently stuck in the Chicago-O’Hare airport on what is likely to become about a 4 hour layover. Yuck.
So to take a little break from people-watching (one of my favorite pass times), I have another delicious recipe with avocado to share. I assure you, you will want to try this one. Delicious.

Lots and lots of chopping.

Lots and lots of chopping.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche
1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined

Juice from 1 lime

Juice from 1 lemon

Juice from 1 orange

1 avocado, chopped/cubed

1/2 cup red onion chopped

1 cup cucumber, seeded and chopped

1 medium tomato, seeded and chopped

handful of cilantro chopped

salt, to taste

1. Combine juices in glass bowl (the acid could ruin a plastic or wooden bowl). Set aside.

2. Boil shrimp for about 2 minutes until cooked (pink in color). Cool to room temperature and chop into small pieces.

3. Combine all ingredients together.

3. Chill for at least an hour before serving. Garnish with fresh cilantro if desired.

Really a delicious finished product.

Really a delicious finished product.

If you are more adventurous I your seafood tastes than me, feel free to add any other sea dwelling creatures you like. I’m sure it could be delicious.

Random aside: If any of you are Grey’s Anatomy fans like me (I watched all 8.5 seasons in about a month. It was a problem) then you will recall Christina referring to one of their Jane Doe patients as Ceviche. It makes me giggle whenever I hear the word now.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

