Throwback Thursday, the Terrible Treadmill, & a Body Weight Workout

Happy Throwback Thursday!!

Eating healthy and lifting weights from a young age.

Eating healthy and lifting weights from a young age.

One of the many perks of being home is an unlimited access to photographic gems like the ones above. I clearly went through a phase where I did not like to brush my hair (you should see the picture of the back of my head–>rat’s nest).

After taking a nice little stroll down memory lane this morning I decided to give a workout that I came upon while browsing Pinterest a try. The title drew me in “The Toughest Thing You Can Do on a Treadmill is….THIS WORKOUT.” Challenge accepted.

I looked it over, and yes, it looked tough, but this morning I was feeling pretty confident that I could complete it. Boy, was I a little too confident. Just 30 minutes in, I hit the cool down button because my lungs were on fire and my legs were burning. I was dripping sweat and had been defeated. If you want the original workout, click here.

Here are the 30 minutes I got through:

Time Setting
0:00-2:00 Run at 5.0
2:10-4:00 Run at 7.5
4:10-5:00 Run at 10
5:10-7:00 Run at 7.5
7:10-8:00 Lower speed to 1.5, perform walking lunges, alternating legs
8:10-12:00 Run at 7.5
12:10-17:00 Lower speed to 3.5, turn around and jog backwards
17:10-20:00 Turn around and run at 7.5
20:10-21:00 Lower speed to 1.5, perform walking lunges
21:10-24:00 Run at 8
24:10-27:00 Raise incline to 12%, run at 5
27:10-28:00 With incline at 12%, jog backwards at 2.5
28:10-29:30 Lower incline to 0%, run at 8
29:30-30:00 Run at 10
30:00-35:00 Cool down

As I said earlier, by the time I was done with that, I was dripping sweat and gasping for air. Needless to say, I have found something that I need to revisit each week until I can complete it. Which I will do!

It has also inspired me to create my own treadmill workout that resembles this, so watch out for that at a later date.

Now on to something I made up myself and was able to complete: an Upper Body Body Weight Workout. My legs are still a little sore from my Lower Body Body Weight Workout I shared with you the other day and I am sure my arms will be after this one as well. Here is is:

Upper Body Body Weight Workout

Exercise Sets/Reps
Push ups 3×10
Wide Push ups 3×10
Diamond Push ups 3×10
Dips 3×10
Pull ups 3xAMRAP

If you can’t do diamond push ups, do not be ashamed at all. They are very challenging and target your triceps. Try dropping to your knees if you can’t complete a set, it’s what I do!

I will definitely be sore tomorrow, but that means I had a good workout, right? Lucky for me, I had a buddy to help me with my push ups.

Meet Drake. My push up helper.

Meet Drake. My push up helper.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Throwback Thursday, the Terrible Treadmill, & a Body Weight Workout

  1. That treadmill workout still gives me chills…it IS a killer. I haven’t done it in months and now I’m going to have to go test myself! Glad you (enjoyed?) it! Tweet us an “after” picture when you DO complete it so we can re-tweet out your achievement! Hopefully it’ll inspire others to give it a try. You rock, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

