Orange Chicken and Asparagus.

As I said in an earlier post, I really want to get back in the swing of trying new, clean, healthy recipes. The one I made today features my favorite: ASPARAGUS.Ā I absolutely love asparagus (even if it does make your pee smell). I could easily eat it every day. It is probably my favorite vegetable. Needless to say, I am excited that it is almost asparagus season!

I also enjoy Asian cuisine, however, it can be packed with sodium and chemicals. I am always on the lookout for healthified recipes for Asian foods. My “healthy” Pinterest board is full of recipes for me to try, but this first one caught my eye so much that I pinned it twice! From start to finish, this recipe took a total of 25 minutes to prepare. Find the original here.

Orange Chicken and Asparagus.

Orange Chicken and Asparagus.

Orange Chicken and Asparagus

1 Tbsp Sesame Oil

4 oz. Chicken Breast, sliced into 1/2 in. strips

1 Clove of Garlic, minced

1/4 Tsp Red Pepper Flakes

2 Cups Asparagus, chopped

1 Tsp Low Sodium Soy Sauce

1 Tsp honey

1 Tsp Sesame Seeds

1 Orange, juiced and zested

1. Heat sesame oil in skillet. Saute chicken breast, garlic, and red pepper together for about 7 min.

2. Add asparagus and cook for another 3 minutes.

3. Whisk together soy sauce, honey, sesame seeds, orange juice and zest. Add to skillet and cook for 1-2 minutes.

Makes about 2 serving.

Easy as that. I served mine over about a half of a cup of quinoa. It was light but satisfying and delicious and flavorful without all of the nasty chemicals.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

