Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Yuminess.

It’s safe to say my body has calmed down slightly after the shock of my latest long-run Monday. My legs aren’t quite as angry, my hips have full range of motion again, and my face has returned to an acceptable color. Thank goodness.

I certainly worked up an appetite with that long run, but rather than go the easy route and get take-out somewhere, I decided to try a recipe that has been on my “healthy” Pinterest board for a while. I had shrimp in my freezer, asparagus in my fridge, and lemons on my counter so I was good to go. If this is the only recipe off of my blog that you try, you will not regret it.

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Vegetables

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Vegetables

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Vegetables

from Fitness

4 teaspoons  extra-virgin olive oil, divided
2   large red bell peppers, diced
2 pounds  asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1-inch lengths
2 teaspoons  freshly grated lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon  salt, divided
5 cloves  garlic, minced
1 pound  raw shrimp, (26-30 per pound), peeled and deveined
1 cup  reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon  cornstarch
2 tablespoons  lemon juice
2 tablespoons  chopped fresh parsley (I used dried because it was all I had)
1. Heat 2 tbsp of olive oil in large skillet.
2. Add asparagus, peppers, and lemon zest. Cook for about 6 minutes until veggies begin to soften.
3. Place veggies in a bowl, set aside and cover to keep warm.
4. Add remaining 2 tbsp of olive oil and garlic. Saute garlic for 20 seconds, then add shrimp. Cook for 1 minute.
5. Wisk together cornstarch and chicken broth until smooth.
6. Add mixture to skillet and cook until sauce begins to thicken slightly and shrimp is cooked through. About 2 minutes.
7. Remove from heat, and pour lemon juice and parsley over mixture.
8. Serve sauce and shrimp over vegetables.
I would venture a guess that this would be delightful over a bit of brown rice or quinoa. It certainly did not disappoint my high expectations. There was plenty of flavor and it was filling without being heavy. As I said earlier, if you only try one recipe from this blog, try this one. I think even my picky boyfriend would like this one, as long as I exchange the peppers and asparagus for broccoli!
Enjoy!
Don’t forget, tomorrow is Tunes on Tuesday.
Leave a Reply

