Warm Weather. FINALLY!

It is 77 degrees today in the Philadelphia. FINALLY! Warm weather and sun. It has been heavenly. Luckily the forecast is calling for low 80s for the next two days as well before a cold front sweeps in and brings some thunderboomers and chilly weather. At this point, I am just thankful for a few days of warm weather to thaw things out around here.

Yesterday wasn’t so bad either (low 70s for a high, maybe) and I ventured outside for my first outdoor run of the year. It was lovely. I went about 3.9 miles in the early and felt pretty good. Later that evening I went to hot yoga for the first time in a while. I knew it was going to be tough, but I love what yoga does for me physically and mentally so I went anyway. I laid my mat at the front of the class where the sun was beaming in through the windows. Great right? WRONG. Big mistake. I walked out of that class sweatier than I have ever been. I felt bad for the two people next to me. I was dripping. If there is anyone in the Philadelphia area looking for their first hot yoga experience (or first yoga experience period) I highly recommend HOTBOX Yoga in Manayunk. The teachers are great, the classes are usually small, and I have yet to go to a class where I didn’t have fun.

But that was yesterday, so I digress. This morning I woke up sore from yoga, but feeling pretty good. After all, the sun was shining and it was set to be a beautiful day. While it is more convenient to just step out of my front door and run up and down City Ave, I do not enjoy it much. I much prefer to run along the river on the Schuylkill River Trail, so I made the drive. From where I can park in Manayunk to Boathouse Row is just under 4 miles. This would make a trip out and back under 8 miles; farther than I have ever run in my life. I have kind of decided to make a long-run Monday a regular thing, so naturally, I decided to try it.

Schuylkill River Trail

Schuylkill River Trail

As I said before, I have never run this far in my life. Because of that, I do not know how to pace myself for that distance. Oops. I made it to Boathouse Row, turned around and kept going. About a mile and a quarter into my return run, I decided to stop and check how long I had been at it. I was shocked when I read the number: 5.04 Miles in 37:45. WHAT? So much for nice and steady pace. I decided to alternate between walking and running the final 2.36 miles of my run back to my car, finishing the entire 7.4 miles in a little over 1:07:00. While I didn’t make the entire 7.4 miles without stopping, I am still proud of myself for trying it. Hopefully the pacing comes with time and experience, or maybe I will just go faster for long, who knows! This is a learning experience for me.

Moral of the story: There is nothing wrong with trying. There is a saying that has been floating around that says: “Dead last is better than did not finish which trumps did not start.” So whatever your level, just try. If a mile seems daunting, try it! you may only be able to run for a few minutes at a time before you stop, but it doesn’t matter, you tried. So I didn’t get through the whole run, at least I tried.

Enjoy!

P.S. I will be unbelievably sore tomorrow. Promise.

2 responses to “Warm Weather. FINALLY!

Leave a Reply

