Another Beautiful Day.

It was another gorgeous day in Philadelphia. We topped out at 83 degrees and it was mostly sunny for the majority of the day. My kind of day.

After tutoring some people and lounging in the sun for an hour or two, I decided to get in a little workout before night class. I am still pretty sore from yesterday so I didn’t want to do anything too long (I was also a little pressed for time–>laying in the sun was too nice). I definitely wanted to do some sort of outdoor activity again with the weather being so nice, and because I have no bike here or anything like that, my options were limited to running or running. So I chose running. {Shocker}.

I decided to venture back to the Schuylkill River Trail again. Here are some photos from my run:

View of Center City from the trail. Not bad scenery.

View of Center City from the trail. Not bad scenery.

 

The rowers out on the water. There were a lot of them.

The rowers out on the water. There were a lot of them.

As I said earlier, I didn’t want to do a long workout, so I opted for some interval training. Why do I love interval training? Because it is quick, intense, and an excellent calorie burner. There have been several studies that have shown HIIT (high intensity interval training) to be more effective at burning fat than long, sustained cardio. So what does that mean? You can burn more in less time! Great!

Another thing I love about interval training is the variety. You can do just about anything with intervals. Make them long or short. Extremely varied or more consistent. It is really up to you. With that kind of flexibility, you really can’t get bored.

Here’s what I came up with today:

20-minute Running Interval

Time Pace
2:30 Warm-up
0:30 Walk
0:20 Jog/Run
0:10 Sprint

Repeat 15 times

2:30 Warm-up

You can crank up the intensity by going at a quick pace for the run portion and following that with an all-out sprint, or you can make it a little easier. Whatever you feel up to. I went for more intense which made my lungs and quads burn and the rest of me drip with sweat. Although this was a short workout, it was effective. Give it a try!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

