Tunes on Tuesday!

It is set to be another gorgeous day here. It is already 60 degrees and set to top out at about 81. I am loving it! I woke up this morning just a tad bit sore as I expected after my attempt at 7.4 miles for the first time yesterday. I plan on doing a short run, maybe even some intervals. I’ll be sure to post about it if I chose the latter.

It’s Tuesday! So what does that mean? Tunes on Tuesday. As promised last week, I am going to make this a regular thing. This week I decided to go back a couple decades. Growing up, I listened to a lot of oldies. Β It was what was always on in my Dad’s tractor, truck, shop, you-name-it. If it was a song he really liked (which there were a lot) he would turn it way up and start singing. At the time I thought he was a great singer, but I was young (sorry, Dad). Needless to say, I developed a love for the oldies as well. I can still hear the jingle of the radio station: “Oldies 93.3 KIOA, Des Moinessssss…” Funny the things you remember from when you are little.

As you have probably guessed at this point, this weeks Tunes on Tuesday is an oldies playlist, and you are right. I decided to take my playlist from the 60s. As I was going through all of the songs I had a hard time picking my favorites, so I may make another all-60s playlist at a later date. For now, here is what I came up with:

60s60’s Playlist

Respect- Aretha Franklin

Good Vibrations- Beach Boys

She Loves You- Beetles

You Really Got Me- The Kinks

Papas Got a Brand New Bag- James Brown

My Generation- The Who

Jumpin’ Jack Flash- Rolling Stones

Born to Be Wild-Steppenwolf

Pretty Woman- Roy Orbison

Bad Moon Rising- Creedance Clearwater Revival

Surfin USA- Beach Boys

Doo Wah Diddy- Manfred Mann

I’m a Believer- Monkees

Get Off of My Cloud- rolling stones

Brown Eyed Girl- Van morrison

Ain’t No Mountain High Enough- Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terreli

Wipe Out- Surfaris

Total Time: 48 minutes

All of these songs are upbeat and feel good. I am jammin’ out to them as I write this. It is hard not to start dancing when they come on, like Ain’t No Mountain High Enough–>cue the scene from Remember the Titans or Stepmom. Add this one to your iPod and you won’t be able to help movin’ and groovin’ as you workout.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

