I Took the Plunge.

Yesterday evening, I had a dilemma: sign up for a 5k this Sunday, or no? The registration was only $25, my boyfriend is going to be in Boston all weekend, and the race is around Fairmount Park, which is right down the street from my apartment. The question really became: spend $25 at the bar on Saturday night with my friends or $25 on the 5k Sunday morning. I am proud to say I made the mature, healthy decision.

I took the plunge. I signed up for my first 5K of the year: 4th Annual Subaru Cherry Blossom 5k. The course winds through Fairmount Park including next to the beautiful Japanese Tea House:

philadelphiaphitnesspharmacy.com

philadelphiaphitnesspharmacy.com

With this wonderful couple of days of warmth, the trees should be in full bloom by Sunday. I have to admit, this was part of the draw for me, I am a sucker for pretty flower trees. If that makes me lame, I really don’t care!

I don’t really know what to expect in terms of my performance on Sunday, but I am not going to lose sleep over it. Running a PR is not really on the top of my priority list this weekend. I am much more interested in seeing where I am at and how far I still have to go to reach my goals. I have only been consistently running for the past 2.5 weeks, so I am not expecting any blazing speed. By entering the race, I get to feed my competitive desire and force myself to get a hard run in. I am thinking I made a pretty good investment.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

