Then I Did Something Crazy…

So I took the plunge last night and decided to sign up for my first 5k of the year. No big deal, right? I have run 5ks before. I know what to expect. Right.

As I am driving in my car this morning, listening to the radio, a commercial comes on for another race. This one is a 5k/10k/3k walk. I’ve never done a 10k before. I haven’t run 6.2 miles at one time in my life ever I don’t think (I only remember going 6 in cross country). So obviously I decided to think about signing up. Why not?

With no pen and paper, I had nothing to write down the name of the race, and all I could remember was that it was the “Dash for something or other” and that it is a week from this Sunday. A little Google search and I found what I was looking for:

dashThe 18th Annual Dash for Organ and Tissue Donor Awareness is a 10k/5k/3k race to promote the awareness of tissue and organ donation. All proceeds support programs to help raise awareness and educate people on the importance of organ and tissue donation as well as help support The Gift of Life Family House.

Organ and tissue donation strikes near and dear to my heart. For those of you who don’t know me well, my mom contracted E. coli in the summer of 2010 which led to two extremely rare blood diseases, TTP and HUS. She was in intensive care at the MAYO Clinic for quite some time and in a coma for 17 days. In addition, her colon burst, requiring emergency surgery. While she has survived all of that, she has been left with a chronic kidney disease and has been placed on the transplant list. She is working hard through diet and exercise to get her kidney function above transplant level, but at this point it is a very real possibility that she will need a transplant in the future. There is little I can do to help her (short of giving her a kidney if I am compatible) which is hard.

Here is the awesome part of this race: I can help to raise money for programs spreading donation awareness. Although it is only a week and a half away, I have set a goal of raising $500. If you want to help me out (and no donation is too small–>even $1 get me closer to my goal) click here, and enter my name, Shelby Smith, into the participant search. I thank you ahead of time for your support!

Because, for the most part, I feel helpless in my mom’s recovery, running this race makes me feel like I am making a difference for someone. One donor can as many as 50 people’s lives! I will be sure to keep you updated on the training progress as the race gets closer as well as my progress toward my fund-raising goal.

Here is the link again if you want to contribute. Just enter my name, Shelby Smith, and click on my name at the bottom.

Again, thank you for your support!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

