Jalapeno Pot Roast Tacos

Happy Saturday! It has finally stopped raining here in Philadelphia (isn’t it supposedly Always Sunnyย here?–>I beg to differ). It is not the 80 degrees that it was earlier in the week, but at least it is no longer a torrential downpour.

It has been an eventful 24 hours again. For a little cross training I went to play pick up with the team for an hour. It was the first time I have touched a ball in about a month. I got my legs loosened up and a good sweat in.

After that I went to the St. Joe’s vs. St. Charles Seminary game. It is a yearly for-fun event in which some of our boys play a group of guys from the nearby seminary. My boyfriend has participated every year. Here are some photos:

Ceremonial jump ball. That is Father Gillespie, the President of the University in the middle. Crazy kid in the background, laughing, is my boyfriend.

Ceremonial jump ball. That is Father Gillespie, the President of the University in the middle. Crazy kid in the background, laughing, is my boyfriend.

The participants.

The participants.

In all the years that my boyfriend has played this game, he was undefeated, until last night. In the final minute of play, St. Charles hit a layup and St. Joe’s had a good look from 3, but missed it. Anders was a little peeved, but the game was purely for fun. The final score was 68-66 St. Charles.

Fast-forward to this morning, I did a little more community service. Every year I have been here I have participated in Hand-in-Hand. It is a day filled with fun for the mentally handicapped of the area. There are games, food, music, prizes, face painting and many other activities for them to do. Each year we have run a basketball shooting station. It is very rewarding to see them light up when that ball goes through the net.

Shooting away.

Shooting away.

The theme this year was Renaissance.

The theme this year was Renaissance.

photo (31)

The people who put everything together and run the show are absolutely fantastic. They spend hours decorating and organizing and it turned out amazingly. The joy it brings to those who get to come and participate is well worth the work.

I have been meaning to share this recipe with you for the past couple of days, but with all the 5k, 10k, and community service doing I have been a little busy posting on other things.

I have been trying to clean my freezer out slowly but surely because I will be moving at some point within the next month. I had gotten pretty much every thing out except for a pot roast. I didn’t want actual, traditional pot roast with potatoes and carrots and the works, I wanted something different.

Here’s what I came up with:

Jalapeno Pot Roast Tacos.

Jalapeno Pot Roast Tacos.

Jalapeno Pot Roast Tacos

From: The Crockin’ Girls

1 onion, chopped

2-3 lb pot roast

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 oz. jar of jalapenos, with juice

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

1. Combine all ingredients in slow cooker.

2. Cook on low for 8-10 hours.

3. Shred and serve with your favorite toppings

I served mine in flour tortillas. It turned out nice and tender, shredding easily with good flavor. If you are looking for something other than the traditional pot roast, give this Mexican twist a try. It is delicious!

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Jalapeno Pot Roast Tacos

Leave a Reply

