First 5k of the Year.

Welp, I just finished up my first 5k of the year a little over an hour ago. I really did not now what to expect because it is the first one I have run in about 10 months and I only returned to running somewhat consistently about 3 weeks ago. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised.

As you may remember, only a few days ago I was contemplating whether or not I should even sign up for this race, but I took the plungeΒ and signed up. My main draw was that it is the 4th Annual Cherry Blossom Festival 5k. Translation: pretty flower trees to run around. I really want to go to the D.C. festival, but if I don’t make it there, this one should suffice. Part of the course ran around the Japanese Tea House:

Japanese Tea House

Japanese Tea House

The Tea House, if I am not mistaken, was given to the city of Philadelphia by the Emperor of Japan after WWII (in the 50’s possibly?) as an apology. Don’t quote me on that. Just something I remember someone telling me. {it sounds good though}

I arrived at the start/finish line bright and early to pick up my number and my t-shirt. Race time was set for 8 am. I decided before we started that I was going to go hard, pick someone to stay with, and see what I could do. I started off pretty quick. The first mile was done in a flash. I settled into my pace, but by the time I got to the 2 mile mark I was definitely struggling. The two-mile mark is a big mental thing for me. Sometimes it feels like it takes forever to get to it, but once I do, I know I only have 1.1 miles left and I will be fine.

The entire race, there were only 2 other women in front of me, one in a red shirt (she was out quick-I couldn’t see her after the first mile) and one in aqua shorts (I kept her in my sights the entire race), so I knew at that point I would medal, until about the 2.5 mile mark. There, a woman came from behind and attempted to pass me. I stayed with her for a little bit, then she actually did pass me, though I kept her well within striking distance. We rounded the corner past the Tea House, and with the finish line in sight, I kicked with all I had left. I passed her and secured my place in the medals!

I finished in a new PR time of 21:19. I won the 20-29 age group, and placed 3rd overall for women (red shirt won it all, she was in her 30s and aqua shorts got 2nd, she was 16). I am extremely happy with the results of my first 5k of the season. I definitely don’t expect the 10k next week to go as well as this race did, but this was definitely a confidence booster. I may just become a road race addict!

Here are some pictures from the race:

Start/Finish

Start/Finish

Results. New PR!

Results. New PR!

Medals for the top 3 male and female finishers.

Medals for the top 3 male and female finishers.

My bronze medal for the overall.

My bronze medal for the overall.

Top 3 female finishers.

Top 3 female finishers.

Some of the pretty trees. I didn't really notice them while I was running.

Some of the pretty trees. I didn’t really notice them while I was running.

Winner, winner chicken dinner.

Winner, winner chicken dinner.

t-shirt, medal, and number.

t-shirt, medal, and number.

This was a great way to start off my Sunday. It is going to be a GREAT day!

Enjoy!

2 responses to “First 5k of the Year.

Leave a Reply

