Pork Chops w/Blackberry Sauce.

Remember my paleo pancakes from a few days ago? The ones with the blackberry sauce? They turned out AMAZINGLY. A berry sauce like that one may be what I cover my pancakes in from now on. No more maple syrup for me {that’s a big maybe}.

As much as I loved that sauce, I still had left over blackberries in my fridge. I mentioned in that post that I would try something like it over a dinner dish like chicken or beef. I really didn’t think of pork as an option until I was browsing Pinterest. There I came upon an apple chutney pork chop recipe and thought, you know what, pork chops and blackberries would be a good combo!

So I hopped on Google to see what I could find:

Pork Chops with Blackberry Sauce.

Pork Chops with Blackberry Sauce.

Pork Chops with Blackberry Sauce

adapted from: PaleOMG

2 thick cut pork chops

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp dried thyme

salt and pepper to taste

12 oz fresh blackberries

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp water

1. Sprinkle spices on chops and press them into each side.

2. Combine blackberries, vinegar, water, and salt in a small sauce pan over medium heat. Heat until it begins to simmer, stirring often. **very important to stir frequently so that it does not burn.

3. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 3-5 minutes.

4. Pour half of the sauce into a bowl and set aside, return the rest to the low heat.

5. Brush one side of the chops with the sauce and place that side down in a skillet over medium heat.

6. Brush the other side with the sauce while cooking. Flip every 2-3 minutes, re-glazing each time. In total, the cook time takes Β about 15-17 minutes.

7. Top with the berry sauce that continued to cook and thicken.

The flavor of these pork chops was amazing!! The sweetness of the blackberries combined with the saltiness of the chops is a great pair. Be warned, you may eat yourself into a coma or a stomach ache if you are not careful. They are that good.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

