A Swimming Workout & The Banquet

First off, my apologies. I promised to post this swimming workout later in the day, yesterday. That didn’t happen. Obviously. I was running around all day trying to get ready for this:

The team at our end of the year banquet.

The team at our end of the year banquet.

My boyfriend looking dapper. Best date I could ask for.

My boyfriend looking dapper. Best date I could ask for.

I look like a midget. And I have heels on. In my defense, so does she. Not fair.

I look like a midget. And I have heels on. In my defense, so does she. Not fair.

It was my final SJUWBB end of the year banquet. I received the Reverend Emory Ross Academic Award and the Loyalty and Leadership Award. I also had to give a nice little two minute speech. I rambled, but oh well, I made it up on the spot.

Before the banquet, I made sure to get in long run. Here are some pictures I paused to take before I turned around and ran back to my car:

The infamous Rocky statue

The infamous Rocky statue

 

The infamous Rocky Steps. Aka the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

The infamous Rocky Steps. Aka the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

 

Rocky's foot prints.

Rocky’s foot prints.

 

The view from the top of the stairs. Obviously I ran to the top of them.

The view from the top of the stairs. Obviously I ran to the top of them.

Two days ago, I needed to get in a cardio workout because of my upcoming race this weekend, but I wanted to give my legs a rest following my 5k on Sunday morning. I wasn’t really feeling a cycling workout, so I decided the pool would be a good alternative. I asked my wonderful, dolphin of a boyfriend to write me a doable, but challenging swimming workout for someone like me. For those of you who don’t know him, Anders was a state champion swimmer in high school. If you see him in the water you would be convinced he is half dolphin, too!

And then there is me. I can swim, don’t get me wrong, but for as much as Anders is a dolphin, cutting through the water with ease, I am more of a brick. I am slow. Very, very slow. In all honesty, before this workout, I don’t think I have ever swam more than 2 laps without stopping. Because of that, I was skeptical when Anders gave me the workout:

Swimming Workout

100m freestyle warm-up

75m freestyle

25m breaststroke

1 minute rest

75m freestyle

25m breaststroke

1 minute rest

75m freestyle

25m breaststroke

1 minute rest

75m freestyle

25m breaststroke

1 min rest

25m freestyle

25m breaststroke

25m freestyle

25m breaststroke

25m freestyle

25m breaststroke

25m freestyle

25m breaststroke

75m freestyle

25m breaststroke

Phew!Β The end of that is, in fact, 6 total laps without stopping. It was a little rough, but I did it. By the time I got out of the pool I was sweating and my shoulders and lats were burning. It took me about 25 minutes to do the entire workout. If you are a better swimmer than me, it could definitely take you less time. This workout got my heart rate up where I wanted it without being rough on the legs, which was very nice. It was a great recovery from Sunday and hopefully helped build my cardio for my 10k this weekend!

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

