Speedy Speed Work.

Now that I know where I am at after my first 5k of the year, it is time for me to start working toward my goal time (fast enough to insure that I beat my Dad in July!). To do that, I need to get my body used to running faster. The only way to race faster is to train faster. Seems like a no-brainer right?

I haven’t really done speed work since my high school track and cross-country days to I wanted to easy my way into it. I decided on a shorter workout of 200s on the track.

Your Sanctuary

200s Speed Work

2 lap warmup- easy pace

200 m at goal race pace or a bit faster

200 m light jog for recovery

Repeat 7x

Total Distance: 2.0 miles

This workout took me about 14 minutes to complete. I went much faster than my current race pace, aiming for 6 minute miles.

If you don’t have access to a track, use a timing system instead to determine your fast spurts and your slow spurts. For example, if I want to run a race at 6 min mile pace (ya right, maybe one day) then for 200s pace would be about :45. Without a track, I would simply run hard for :45 seconds. Get the idea? Obviously, if you have access to a track, that would be best, but sometimes you have to make do with what you have!

Hopefully this speed work that I did earlier in the week will pay off for my big race tomorrow! Thank you to all of you who donated. I was able to raise over $1,500 for Organ and Tissue Donor Awareness. You guys rock! Today is the last day to donate, if you would like to click here, type in my name, Shelby Smith, and donate! Thank you again for all of your generous support. I couldn’t have done it without you!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

