2013 Dash For Organ And Tissue Donor Awareness.

Welp, my first 10k is in the books! What an experience it was. I have never taken on this distance in a race and really wasn’t sure what to expect. I knew it would be tough, but I was confident I could get it done.

As I have said in previous posts, this race was for a great cause. It benefited programs promoting tissue and organ donor awareness. As a participant I was able to raise money to help fund those programs. I set my initial goal at $500 because I only registered about a week and a half in advance. I was able to reach this goal in less than 24 hours so I raised the bar to $1,500. I am happy to say that I was able to raise just over my goal at $1,550! You guys are awesome! Thank you so much to everyone who donated and supported me throughout the race.

I arrived about half an hour before race time to a huge gathering of people at the stairs of the infamous Philadelphia Museum of Art. There were teams of walkers and runners all around. I was able to cut through the chaos and get my number and t-shirt. Anders helped me put it on straight and I was ready to go!

My pretty, pre-race picture.

My pretty, pre-race picture.

Before I knew it, they were calling everyone for the 10k to the start line. Anders overheard some of the organizers saying this is the largest 10k they have had to date for this event.

Start line.

Start line.

As the race began, I swerved and snaked my way through the crowd into a position I liked before I settled into my space. I was shooting for somewhere around 8-minute miles. I thought that would be a doable, comfortable pace for my first 10k. When I passed the 1-mile marker it was just ticking past 7:00. Oops! So much for 8-minute miles.

I was feeling pretty comfortable through the rest of the beginning half of the race and hit the 5k mark somewhere around 22:30. That’s when the fun began {not}. About the 4 mile mark I started to struggle mentally. It may sound cliché, but all of those who donated and reflecting on the time when my mom was in the hospital actually kept me going. I kept saying to myself, Remember when she couldn’t run? and People paid $1,500 for you to do this, get it done! It worked wonderfully and kept me moving. So thank you all again for the wonderful motivation!

Once I got past the 5 mile mark I knew I would make it. I had a strong finish, which Anders beautifully captured:

I finished the 10k in an unofficial time of 44:39 which was about 7:11 mile pace. I was extremely happy with the results! Here are some photos from the race:

Sprint to the finish.

Sprint to the finish.

 

070

Anders, Me, & Will

Anders, Me, & Will

 

Will & I. Such a great guy!

Will & I. Such a great guy!

 

My race t-shirt and my number.

My race t-shirt and my number.

A big thank you to Anders and Will for coming out to support me this morning! You were the best cheering section I could ask for. I also want to say thank you again to all of you who donated. You made this experience that much more amazing!

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

