The Iron Hawk.

I wasn’t the only competitor today. Right after my race we returned to campus because Anders had to go to work. We were cutting it close so I had to drop him off immediately so that he wasn’t late. I went back to my apartment and showered, then did the nice girlfriend thing and took him lunch and boy, am I glad I did.

I walked in to the rec center as the Iron Hawk was beginning. It is an indoor triathalon thought up by one of the recreation interns. Anders was one of the time keepers.

There were 14 people total who signed up to compete in the Iron Hawk. The event consisted of 20 minutes on a stationary bike, 15 minutes on the treadmill, and 10 minutes in the pool. The scoring was based on distance traveled in that time. A new group of competitors started each hour and by the second round of competitors I nearly had Anders convinced to compete. A bit more coaxing and he agreed.

He was the last male competitor, so he knew the numbers he needed to beat. Here are some pictures of him competing:

First Leg. The Bike.

First Leg. The Bike.

Second Leg. The Treadmill.

Second Leg. The Treadmill.

Final Leg. The Dolphin in his natural habitat.

Final Leg. The Dolphin in his natural habitat.

After a pretty strong start on the bike, one of the pedals broke which prevented him from finishing that leg. Because of that, an average was taken to project his final distance completed in the leg. The run was a bit of a struggle, but he was able to complete a little over 2 miles in the 15 minutes. The pool is where he shined {obviously} completing 25 lengths in 10 minutes, and he wasn’t even trying. Although it was out of his control, the bike breaking proved to be his downfall. Had he been able to finish he would have tied for first. He finished 2nd in the first Iron Hawk.

I thought this was a great idea and plan to try a variation of it later in the week once my legs are recovered from my race this morning. You know I will share my results when the time comes!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

