The 285 Workout?

I have decided it’s time to return to strength training. I am not sure I am ready to return to the weight room hardcore, but I am ready to make a bit of a comeback of some sort.

My boyfriend has been talking about this workout in particular for a little more than a year, complaining of sore muscles for days after doing it. It is affectionately called “the 300 workout” as it appeared in Men’s HealthΒ and was used by some of the cast of the movie 300Β to get jacked up and cut, Spartan style. The workout is named for the number of reps, not the movie<–a common misconception.

After hearing about this workout what seems like weekly for a year or more, I asked Anders if I could tag along the next time he and his lifting peeps tried it. He agreed (although I don’t think he really wanted to) and yesterday was the day.

Here is the original workout:

The 300 workout

25 pull ups

50 barbell deadlifts- 135 lbs

50 push ups

50 box jumps-24 inch box

50 floor wipers

50 single-arm clean and press- 36 lb kettle bell

25 pull ups

**Complete as fast as possible

Looks like a piece of cake right?! HA! Yeah, right. That’s what the boys did. I, on the other hand, had to modify it slightly. So here’s what I did:

Floor wipers. While holding 135 lb up on the Smithson machine.

Floor wipers. While holding 135 lb up on the Smithson machine.

The 285 Workout<–doesn’t have the same ring to it

25 pull ups

50 barbell deadlifts- 70 lbs

50 push ups

50 box jumps- 18 inch box

50 floor wipers

50 single-arm clean and press- 20 lb dumbell

10 pull ups

Anders captured this following my wipers...struggling.

Anders captured this following my wipers…struggling.

So I didn’t do as heavy of weights and couldn’t bang out the last 15 pull ups, but hey, for a return to lifting, I think I did ok! 285 out of 300 reps is nothing to be ashamed of. I woke up this morning with a very sore back and my abs are much more sore than I thought they would be. The entire workout took us about 30+ minutes to complete. It was fun and varied, very much like CrossFit workouts (hmmm…maybe I should start doing them). I don’t know that I will do this workout with the boys again, but maybe one day (I apparently talk too much while I workout. Shocker!).

Because I plan to return to strength training, I am sure this is only one of many sore days to come, but it is so worth the results.

Enjoy!

One response to “The 285 Workout?

  1. You are able to measure changes out of this exercise routine by means of timing your self how much time it will take to finish your exercise routine. Chance to find the accomplishing this exercise routine 2-5 times a week to find the outcomes.

Leave a Reply

