I Am Still Sore.

Remember last week I decided it’s time to return to strength training? Well, I started off with the 300 workoutย which left my back and chest very sore from its excessive amounts of push ups and pull ups. So, Friday I decided to do a leg workout. Just to balance things out.

Good idea, right? Three days later, my legs are still sore from it.

Before I did the workout, I got to watch some of the best athletes in the world practice hand-offs and get loose for the Penn Relays.

That's Allison Felix there in the purple.

That’s Allison Felix there in the purple.

The Russians.

The Russians.

I LOVE the Bahamas' warm-up jacket. Sweet colors.

I LOVE the Bahamas’ warm-up jacket. Sweet colors.

One of my assistant coaches was lucky enough to get a picture with Justin Gatlin and Maurice Greene. Unfortunately, I was on the wrong side of the track to see them. Oh well.

After soaking up the sun and watching the various teams run around, I decided to get in a workout of my own. I didn’t feel like going for a run because I went for a 4-miler the previous day. Instead, I went for a body-weight, lower-body-intensive, CrossFit-inspired workout.

Body Weight Lower Body Burner

**Complete as quickly as possible

100 Squats

100 Lunges (50 each leg)

100 Calf Raises

100 Sit ups

25 Squats

It took me about 12 minutes to complete this workout. Right after I was done, my legs felt jello-y, but I had NO idea how sore it would make me. There was a 5k that started on campus yesterday that I wanted to do, but when I woke up my legs still wouldn’t move. I am not sure whether it has been my lack of lifting that made me so sore or the fact that this workout is just very intense. I plan to try this again one of these days, but hopefully it doesn’t hurt as badly.

Leave a Reply

