My Own 30-Day Challenge

In an attempt to return to my strength training ways, I have decided to do my own 30-day challenge. There are plenty of 30-day challenges floating around Pinterest, such as the 30 day ab challenge, squat challenge, push up challenge, etc. My 30-day challenge is going to be a little different than all of those.

Here’s my plan:

1. Strength training (body weight exercises only) 6 days a week.

2. Never train the same body part two days in a row (ex. no two leg days in a row)

3. I am going to try to do a different routine each day and pull from various sources such as Pinterest, Blogilates (shout out Steph and Sue), BodyRock, and others.

4. I am going to continue my 5k training, but mix in some more interval training than usual.

Obviously, I made and decorated my own calendar to record the next 30 days. Complete with sparkles and motivational quotes. Oh, and color coded highlighting.

Pretty, isn't it?

Pretty, isn’t it?

I got my first recorded strength routine from Pinterest. It is called the Plump Glute Circuit from dennisselisseth.com.

It was an all body butt-intensive circuit that can be done in minimal space. The entire thing took me a little under a half an hour to complete.

Plump Glutes Circuit

Two days later and I am still pretty sore. It took my entire first mile of my run this afternoon to loosen my hamstrings up. Although I said I want to try to do a different routine everyday I may repeat this one at some point in the next 30 days because it so effectively made my butt sore.

I am excited to see what I can get done in the next 30 days (and, obviously excited about my calendar). Check back a little later to see what I did today for a short strength routine- we are talking like 10 minutes- and a DELICIOUS new breakfast recipe, also courtesy of Pinterest.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

