Scandinavian Day’s 5k.

Happy Monday! I hope it is sunny where you are. It has been cloudy here all morning and early afternoon, despite the forecasted sunniness.

While I wait for the sun to make an appearance, I thought I would share with you the results from my most recent 5k.

This past Saturday, as a part of the annual Scandinavian Day’s Festival in Story City, my dad and I got up bright and early for the 5k.

Race time was 7:30 a.m., but luckily it was the best running weather of the day with the sun shining and little to no wind. The course looped around starting in downtown Story City and passing by the carousel that I used to ride when I was little. This year is actually the 100th anniversary of the carousel. Crazy!

The course wasn’t bad, save a bunch of turns and a few gradual hills. Overall, there were probably around 100 people running. I came in first overall for the women in 21:07. I was just shy of going under 21:00! SO CLOSE! The next closest woman was about a minute behind me.

My dad also took home a trophy for winning his age group. He ran a 21:48. Not bad for only having in 15 miles on the year at age 50+ 🙂

Here are some pictures from the event:

002 003 004 005 006

 

Winners!

Winners!

Overall, it was a nice race and a successful day for the Smith family!

I hope you all had a great weekend!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

