And so, the adventure begins…

I have safely made it to Ireland!!

 

After a delayed flight out of Des Moines- start off the trip right- I arrived in Chicago with just enough time to get through the security line in the international terminal, grab a crappy, pre-made Asian noodle salad, and be on my way to the gate.

This is my "see-ya USA" face.

This is my “see-ya USA” face.

The flight to Dublin was about 6 hours and 45 minutes, and I didn’t sleep a WINK. I watched two movies, Mud and Safe Haven, and an old episode of Entourage. We ended up arriving half an hour early, at 4:45 am Dublin time.

My the time we de-boarded, I got through customs, and got my bags it was about 5:30. There were a total of 4 of us getting into Dublin that morning, so Diana (another scholar who got in at the same time) and I had to wait for the other two to get in a couple of hours later.

When the four of us had finally arrived, we all loaded up and headed north to Belfast. It was a two-hour drive and I STILL DIDN’T SLEEP! I don’t know what was wrong with me.

After a stop for breakfast (oh, how I have missed Irish bacon) and to pick up two more scholars at Gareth’s house, we all headed to our home for the week:

Home for the next week-ish

Home for the next week-ish

We are staying in the dorms here, which consist of our own rooms and own bathrooms with a common kitchen area, Not bad digs at all for a dorm, if you ask me.

Once we got settled in, we all crashed out for a few hours. Yes, after about 26 hours of being awake, I slept for a few hours. Then, it was off to dinner together in Belfast at Bella Italia.

I haven’t slept as soundly as I did last night in quite sometime. I was in bed by 10 p.m. and could have easily slept at least 12 hours, but I forced myself to get up at about 8:30 this morning and go for a run. I’ve heard running/exercise is supposed to help with jet lag, so I figure I will give it a whirl.

There is a very nice little path that goes along the water and the weather was gorgeous. I’m not sure how far I went, but I would guess somewhere between 2 and 2.5 miles.

The harbor where Titanic was built.

The harbor where Titanic was built.

 

View looking the other direction on the path.

View looking the other direction on the path.

The weather is ever-changing here. It can be sunny and beautiful one moment, then the next cold and rainy. It is usually around 50-65 degrees for lows and highs.

We are supposed to start training/team building today, however, there have been some flight issues with a few of the other scholars who are set to arrive today. No telling what that will mean for our plans for the rest of the day.

 

I will try to blog/update as frequently as possible and as time/internet availability permits.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “And so, the adventure begins…

  1. Shelby, I’m looking forward to reading your blog & following along with all your adventures. Best wishes for the year.

  2. Shelby,
    We are glad that you have made it to Ireland. Stay warm.
    We thought about you all weekend. Take care and keep us posted.
    Love You
    Granny

Leave a Reply

