Paleo Spaghetti Bolognese

It is the start of Day 8 of my 21 Day Sugar Detox. With a full week behind me, I am feeling pretty good. I am trying to keep things switched up and interesting with new recipes so that I don’t get bored. The more entertained I am, the less likely I am to swerve off course.

This weekend is the first COMPLETELY free weekend I have had in quite some time. Rather than get a substantial amount of my thesis done {though I did a few things} I decided to try out some new recipes that are 21DSD approved.

I discovered earlier this week that we do, in fact, own a julienne peeler. NEW TOY! Since then, my carrots are no longer sliced daily for my salad, but julienned. So fancy.

I decided to use my peeler to give zucchini noodles a whirl, and I am so glad I did. The results were delicious. I found the original recipe from Paleo Newbie and tweaked it to my liking. The sauce is absolutely wonderful and FULL of flavor. It involves a decent amount of chopping, but the end product is  so worth it.

Spaghetti Bolognese

Paleo Pasta Bolognese

adapted from: Paleo Newbie

Ingredients

Noodles

Medium-sized zucchinis, julienned lengthwise into zucchini noodles

Bolognese Sauce

1.5 lbs of ground beef

1 can of tomatoes

1 can tomato sauce

1 cup of onions, diced small

1 cup of carrots, diced small

3/4 cup of celery, diced small

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tsp basil

1 tsp thyme

1 tsp oregano

Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Brown the meat. Drain and set aside
  2. In a saucepan or skillet, add diced onions, celery, carrots and garlic. Sauté together with a little oil or fat over medium heat for 8-10 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Note: The carrots will remain firmer than the other veggies
  3. Add cooked meat back into the pan with the sautéed vegetables
  4. Add the can of peeled tomatoes and can of tomato sauce to the saucepan
  5. Add basil, oregano, and thyme.
  6. Let the sauce simmer (very low heat) for about 45 minutes
  7. Taste sauce near the end of the cooking time, and add salt, pepper and more spices to taste
  8. While the sauce simmers, julienne your zucchinis into spaghetti noodles.Tip: Cut off the bottom of each zucchini, keep the top of the zucchini as a “handle” to hold on to, and slice lengthwise with your julienne peeler, pulling the tool toward you
  9. Heat the zucchini noodles in a pan mixed with a little sauce on your cooktop
  10. Plate noodles, generously ladle on sauce.

This recipe ends up making quite a large amount of sauce for one person, but that is great for me as I will take it to work for lunch during the week. Feel free to play with the spices or ingredients like I did.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

