MRI Results

Well, not the news I wanted to hear, but at least now I know. Last few hours have been a bit of an emotional roller-coaster, but I have since calmed down a bit. {absolute wreck on Skype with my parents…couldn’t help it}

I have a:

“complex tear of the anterior horn of the lateral meniscus surfacing inferiorly with a vertical component identified”

So that sucks.

Not my knee, but essentially, that's where the tear is.

Not my knee, but essentially, that’s where the tear is.

In the words of my dad: “not the first person this has happened to, and won’t be the last.”

Where I go from here is a bit unclear. Surgery is a possibility, but not exactly a necessity. I will continue on rehabbing, consult with a surgeon and move on from there.

Best case scenario: I rehab for the next month/month and a half, and the inflammation subsides along with the pain and I am able to play away. This is a very realistic scenario as the treatment of this injury is very much symptom based. There is little you can do to repair your meniscus, only clean it up {at least that is my limited understanding}.

Worst case scenario: I need surgery and recovery time is somewhere around 6-8 weeks.

It could be much worse, I realize, but for someone who is not at all used to being injured, this is no fun at all. I was a bit of an emotional wreck before, but now that I have calmed down, I know it will all work out one way or another.

In the meantime, I am going to stay committed and on top of my rehab and doing everything I can do to stay in shape. If I do end up needing surgery, the better shape I am in, the faster the recovery an everything else. My regained focus on nutrition could not have come at a better time as I need to do anything and everything to aid in the healing and strengthening process.

Like I said, it may not have been what I wanted to hear, but at least now I know.

Leave a Reply

